Experiences....
 

Our review feedback

 


 

Mc Namara Family Group

October 2023

Our family trip, including 11 adults and 4 children, began with 5 wonderful days at Cloughan Castle to celebrate my parent’s 40th wedding anniversary. Coming from Virginia and New Jersey, Kim and Lourda made the planning of our stay and our anniversary dinner as easy as possible. They were both very responsive, friendly, and gave us the best recommendations for vendors for our big event (Shout out to The Flower Den, Maurice McCarthy Bar Hire, Wild Catering, Paul Corey Photography & Video, and Carmel Dempsey’s musical talent and amazing Irish Step Dancers for giving us a night we will never forget!) The castle itself was absolutely breathtaking, with each room being unique, and the living spaces perfect to accommodate our large group. Not only was the castle very clean with every amenity we could possibly need during our stay, Lourda made herself available during our stay to answer all our questions and provide us with recommendations from places to eat at to doctors to see for our sick little ones. Our group saw many castles during our trip to Ireland, but none could ever be as amazing or as memorable as our time at Cloughlan Castle!


 

Nathan and Diana

October 2023

Cloughan Castle was the perfect choice for our wedding! From the beginning, Kim and Lourda were amazing to work with. The castle and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are spacious and the drawing room was perfect to get ready for the bride and bridesmaids. We stayed 3 nights and Kim and Lourda were both in touch quickly for any needs we had. The castle had all of the amenities we needed and more. We would highly recommend anyone to have their wedding there or to stay in the castle for any event. If you are looking for a wedding venue, look no further than this castle. Steeped in history, the castle is a special place where you and your guests can make your own moment in time to cherish forever.


 

Kyla and John

September 2023

We visited from Missouri and brought 38 guests with us for our wedding. We were at the castle for 3 nights. It was absolutely breathtaking in every single way. The photos don't do it justice. Everyone was very accommodating even from such a great international distance. Lourda helped with décor and other wedding day requests. I cannot express how amazing our experience was and highly recommend Cloughan Castle.


 

Paulina and James

September 2023

We are as happy as could be with how everything went! Our day was amazing! We couldn't have hoped for a better result. We were very fortunate with the weather too, considering it had been dreary in the days leading up to the date. We were pleasantly toasty throughout our time in the castle & the beds provided were super comfortable. Everyone from Cloghan Castle were very helpful and were happy to offer any extra decorations or assistance if we needed them. The whole experience felt like a fantasy wedding!


 

Olivia and John

August 2023

We chose Cloughan Castle for our August 2023 wedding and I can't imagine having had it anywhere else. I actually emailed 4 months before my proposal because I was so set on it!! The venue itself is breathtaking and no photo truly does it justice. We felt so at home there and our guests enjoyed celebrating in such a stunning place. We had 95 guests and it was the ideal size. I'm from the States, but currently live locally with my husband who is from the area. Our guests traveled from over the Atlantic and down the road and each one of them was blown away. I definitely recommend the venue to brides from Ireland and abroad. Kim and Lourda were so helpful and made the process seamless. Lourda was kind enough to give us two tours so my mother could experience the Castle before the wedding which meant so much to me. We also had Maurice McCarthy and Justin Comer for our bar and catering. They were incredible on the day and their staff enhanced the entire experience. Fiona in particular was a godsend and made sure each of our needs was met. The dinner food was delicious, served hot, and the timing of each course was impeccable. We also had Justin for a barbecue the next day and it was the same standard as the wedding. Kate Deegan of Perfect Details did our décor and though the Castle is stunning to begin with, she just made it even more incredible with the floral touches and candles. My vision was executed to perfection! We planned on having an outdoor ceremony, but Mother Nature intervened and the ceremony was held indoors. It ended up being for the best as it felt even more special and intimate. The vendors did an amazing job at transforming the space during the cocktail hour as well. Guests have said that ours was the best wedding they had been to, and Cloghan made that happen! Everyone is ready to head to back for an anniversary celebration! If you're looking for a one-of-a-kind venue for your special day, Cloughan is the place to be!


 

Amy O Connor Group

August 2023

"We LOVED our time at Cloughan Castle! You can tell there’s been a lot of thought put into making it a special venue. Besides the fairytale setting, the accommodations were great too. Everyone in our party was beyond impressed with the experience, and our time there will be very memorable."


 

Siobhan and Kyle

August 2023

"We chose Cloghan Castle in Loughrea for our July 14, 2023 wedding and we are so happy with our decision. We are from the Boston area, so we were planning our wedding abroad. What really attracted us to Cloghan was that it is such a unique venue that you can truly customize and make your own. We wanted a 'wow' factor, non-cookie cutter type of place, as many of our guests were traveling from the states for our wedding and Cloghan allowed us to capture this and more. Lourda and Kim had perfect communication throughout the process and were there for any and all questions. We hired Kate Deegan from Perfect Details for day-of coordination as well as decor and she completely transformed the castle to our vision. She went above and beyond to make sure everything went smoothly. Maurice did our bartending services and he was AMAZING, a true gentleman and master of his craft. Justin Comer from Maggie May's did our catering services and we have gotten non-stop compliments about the food. We hired Dave Whelan from Irish Wedding Band to play for our pre-ceremony happy hour, Sin A Dier Si and a step dancer for our after ceremony and dinner tunes and DJ & Sax for the rest of the evening; all amazing and highly recommend them all. Donoghue’s of Galway (Marie Donoghue) helped with all our transportation for our guests and Di Art was our live painter; perfection! Although our original plan was to have a ceremony on the back lawn, the indoor ceremony was amazing and intimate and we are so happy with it! It was so nice for my bridesmaids to wake up the morning of the wedding for hair and makeup and so nice that everything was in one place. We cannot recommend Cloghan enough!! Thank you for everything!!"


 

Jim Norris Group

June 2023

"We stayed for a long weekend with 7 couples from the UK, US and Ireland. The location is perfect as a launch place to the Cliffs of Moher, Galway, Arryn Islands, and other locales in the area. It is a stunning property and is well looked after. There is plenty of room to gather as a group and lots of quiet places to sneak away. All seven of the bedrooms are beautifully decorated, although only a few are en-suite. The rooms at the top of the tower have stunning views, but you’ll need to be able to walk the stairs to get to them. It was not a problem for any of us, and we were a 60+ group. The property managers worked with us on food options at the castle and at local establishments. Maurice was easy to work with to arrange beverages for our stay, and we were pleasantly surprised that he was able to arrange Guinness on draft for our stay. It was as good as any Guinness we had during our extended stay in Ireland. Overall, our expectations were exceeded! We would highly recommend. "


 

Rena and Airt

May 2023

"The castle is soo beautiful it was the perfect setting for our wedding day. The communication Kim and Lourda was always great. All of our questions were answered so quickly and responses were always straightforward. Lourda was so friendly and helpful each time we met her at the castle,. We loved having the castle the night beforehand so we could set up everything we needed for the next day. All of our guests were blown away by how beautiful it was and staying there was an extra treat. The bed in the bridal suite has ruined other beds, it was soooo comfortable. We slept so well the night before the wedding. Maurice the bar hire man was absolutely amazing, so charming and helpful. He was very organised and the bar itself was great. It was all set up before we arrived on Wednesday which was a great relief, to arrive and see such a big task was done. He was so pleasant not just with us but with the guests. We'd recommend him in a heartbeat! Justin from Maggie Mays catered our wedding and is a brilliant chef, All of the meat eaters loved the dinner, particularly the duck. We've heard so much great feedback. His team was also amazing! Especially, Siobhan, she was so on the ball! And very friendly. The rest of the team were equally as lovely and great at their job. Overall we had the most magical day at Cloughan castle, it really was a dream come true. The setting was perfect for us and allowed us to tailor our wedding exactly how we wanted. It was such a unique and beautiful setting, all of our guests absolutely loved it. It was amazing staying at the castle for two nights, in the most comfortable beds imaginable. It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience to stay in the castle and call it home for two days. We'll never forget it. Thank you so much to the whole Cloughan Castle team. Especially Lourda who went above and beyond on the day and beforehand to make our experience perfect."


 

Michelle & Jason

February 2023

"We had a trip of a lifetime! From start to finish everything was perfect! We could not have asked for anything better! The castle was amazing! Our family and guests loved it! Such a beautiful place! Lol, I think the hardest part was having to leave. Lourda was very helpful and took care of any issues that we had. Daragh added a perfect touch with our ceremony. Maurice was outstanding and everyone raved about Justin’s food!"


 

Emma & Paul

February 2023

"We had our wedding in Cloughan at the beginning of December 2022 and it was absolutely the best decision we ever made. We had always wanted to do something a little different for our wedding and Cloughan ticked all the boxes. The ability to choose our own caterers, choose our own décor and personalise the day the way we wanted was something we just wouldn't have been able to do had we choose a hotel wedding. It made the day even more special. Our guests were awe struck by the grounds, the beauty of the castle itself and the whole experience of getting to stay overnight in one! Lourda couldn't have been more helpful, an absolutely lovely lady who is truly an asset to Cloughan. Her knowledge and expertise were invaluable when trying to navigate planning a wedding. Likewise, Kim was always on the other end of the phone to answer any questions we had and her recommendations on the bar and food were top class. We choose Maurice to do our bar. He was an absolute gentleman who goes above and beyond his own duties to make sure you have the best day. Not only did he oversee the bar, he welcomed the guests and got them settled into the reception area, making sure everything ran according to schedule. He also kept the toilets' stocked and clean throughout the day, a duty not in his job title!! Maurice and his staff made sure our drinks were never empty and kept all the tables topped up with wine throughout the dinner. I cannot recommend him enough. We choose Justin Comer to do our food and believe me, it was delicious! We still get compliments. We choose from a huge selection of dishes, each one as good as the next. What we personally loved about the food was that it wasn't just your 'stereotypical wedding menu', we could personalise the menu ourselves. He also put on a gorgeous array of canapés and evening bites. Justin is brilliant at what he does. He supplied the linen and also did the place settings for us in line with how many we had sat at each table. Similar to Maurice, he has a vast amount of experience working in Cloughan and assists with the things you might forget when planning a wedding yourself without the help of a wedding planner. As we wanted to have a small, intimate wedding of only 60 people we skipped the wedding band and had a dj for the entire night. We choose Dj Jason Shaughnessy. Because it was a small wedding we had been a bit apprehensive about the dance floor being empty, we need not have worried in the slightest!! Jason kept the floor full the entire night. He played every type of music to suit every single guest. He is also such a down to earth, friendly, overall nice guy which made the planning so much easier. 3 months after our wedding day, I still have guests commenting on how beautiful and special our wedding was. I've honestly had people tell me it was the best wedding they have ever been to. After 14 years and 3 children, the wait for our wedding was 100 per cent worth it. Thanks to Cloughan Castle, our wedding day was perfect in every sense of the word. To anyone considering Cloughan as a Wedding venue, I recommend viewing it for yourself. The photos just don't do this place justice. Emma and Paul Smith"


 

Anne & Gordan

23rd August 2023

"From our very first meetings with Castle representatives, Kim and Lourda, we knew we had found the perfect venue for our wedding. Both Kim and Lourda were incredibly supportive, answering all of our questions and allowing us access to the castle whenever needed. This flexibility was hugely appreciated as we live abroad and had limited visits to Ireland prior to the wedding. During the weekend of the wedding, Lourda made herself available for any emergency issues or questions. This even involved arranging grit for the driveway so our guests could arrive safely, due to unexpected icy winter weather. Cloughan Castle has so much charm and personality that completely fit with our wedding dreams. The stunning castle building and grounds enriched the magic of our pre-Christmas winter wedding. The seven bedrooms are luxurious and allowed our wedding party and families to stay on site for the weekend. Waking in the castle on our wedding day created a smooth and relaxed start to our incredible day. Cloughan Castle gave us the flexibility to create and choose our personalised team of suppliers and providers. We received excellent recommendations from Cloughan Castle. Kate Deegan from Perfect Details was our Wedding Co-ordinator. She took our hopes and ideas and brought them to life. She made connections with hair and makeup stylists and provided all of the floral items for the day. We had already selected the caterer, band, videographer and photographer before meeting Kate, but she reassured us of the excellence of our choices and provided ongoing co-ordination with these people. Kate and her representative on the day, Roisin, made our wedding day flow with precision and ease. Green Olive Catering provided the most incredible food for our day. Jacintha and Val were great to work with and had intimate experience of the castle through catering previous weddings. Maurice ran the bar for us and was instrumental in ensuring a smooth flow throughout the day. He worked closely with our Caterers and Wedding Co-ordinator to support with transitions during the day, and kept our guests well-watered and fed! Our celebration involved 70 guests and the venue was perfect for this sized group. The venue was comfortable and intimate. Having the entire castle for the weekend further enhanced this feeling of intimacy. It became ‘our castle’ for the weekend and we felt like royalty! We even claimed the castle by flying the Irish and Australian flags from the top of the tower! Our only regret is that we don’t have video of our guests’ reactions as the bus turned into the castle driveway. We are so pleased to have selected Cloughan Castle for our wedding. It was the perfect backdrop and venue for a perfect weekend."


 

Cait & Nick

September 2022

"We truly could not have had a more amazing wedding and much of that is just because the castle is really the most fantastic venue. We really appreciated how you kept the integrity of the original castle while still having modern necessities. All of the beautiful interior stone work throughout really sets it apart from all other castle rentals in Ireland which just look like hotels from the inside. The views were absolutely stunning, the beds were so comfy, and the farm animals nearby were such a great little add on! Our whole wedding party stayed over for the 3 nights we rented the castle and everyone is still talking about potentially renting again for our anniversary in the future! I would highly recommend the venue to anyone-especially those looking for a wedding venue. It was just so nice to not have to worry about logistics changing locations for getting ready, ceremony, and reception because Cloughan made the perfect venue for all of those. We would also like to give Lourda a very special shout out, as she was so incredibly friendly and helpful. Justin from Maggie Mays, Maurice the Bar hire, and Kate Deegan all made such a great team and seamlessly worked together to make our vision come to life. I wish I could bottle up that happiness and excitement from not only our wedding, but staying with all of our closest friends in the most gorgeous venue! It was truly worth the wait and flying across the pacific for! Thanks a million. We will treasure our memories and photos from Cloughan forever. We will be sure to send photos.
Kindly, Cait & Nick
(12 Aug 22)"


 

Jillian & Mike

July 2022

"We are very grateful to have had the opportunity to host our wedding at Cloughan Castle. This venue has so much to offer, along with being very private and intimate. The castle is beautifully renovated with quality finishes. The accommodation is 5 stars. Pictures do not do it justice. To all international couples looking to at this venue.. DO IT! You will love it, and so will your guest! While it is a self-catering castle, planning was easy, and the recommended vendors knew what they were doing. Kim and Laura have the utmost professionalism and were a pleasure to work with. Huge thanks to Yvonne Griffin @spiritual ceremonies; the ceremony was full of humor and personal touches. @GreenOliveCatering, the food was incredible. Musicians Sean Parr & Friends set the atmosphere with trad music when guests arrived and at reception. @Humble Superstars had the dance floor packed from the first song - I wanted to leave the floor for a drink but kept saying to myself, “after this one”. Carmel Dempsey and Mike Stewart played into the night and really engaged with guests. Maurice McCarthy and his team provided excellent bar service along with, Caterrent, Florabunda Designs, and @MoltenSkyMedia."

 


Jessica & William

November 2021

"We got married in Cloughan Castle in November 2021 and we can’t recommend it enough! The castle is beautiful both inside and out, and deceptively warm and cosy, even when the temperature dropped to below freezing! For the wedding day we had 70 guests and it felt intimate yet spacious. Freedom to explore the castle and its grounds including the spiral staircase, battlements and rooftops helped to make this a truly unique and memorable experience for us and guests alike. From the start we had excellent communication and advice from both Kim, the manager, and Lourda, the hostess. During both the initial viewing of the castle and during check in/out Lourda was extremely helpful and made sure we were completely comfortable in our surroundings. We stayed at the castle from Friday through to Monday, which meant it was our castle for 72hours, allowing us to relax into the wedding festivities without having to worry about checking out before we were ready. All of our suppliers were fantastic and it’s fair to say exceeded our expectations. The whole team interacted seamlessly and knew the castle inside out which really helped to facilitate the most fantastic wedding day. All we had to do was try to relax and enjoy the day! For our decoration we had the wonderful Kate Deegan and her spectacular team from Perfect Details who transformed the main room from ceremony, to banquet, to dance, and made it look magical. For catering we had Justin Comer from the infamous Maggie Mays in Loughrea – he prepared a deliciously warm and homely Irish feast, although be sure to consider vegan or other guest dietary requirements. For all things drinks related we had the lovely Maurice who was both meticulous and accommodating to our needs. Our celebrant was Mary-Kate Heaslip who delivered a beautiful ceremony. And importantly for our cake we employed the culinary baking master-class of Carole’s Cakes. The icing on the cake though was the music and entertainment. For this we had the musical genius of the local yet nationally revered Carmel Dempsey (+353 (86) 813 7104). There’s no other way of saying it apart from Carmel was simply divine and put on an incredible show. She organised, coordinated and performed an absolutely spectacular array of tailored music throughout our day including hosting special guests, the TikTok famous The Cairde (Irish dancers). Following Carmel and her band’s performances, DJ Marcus (+353 (85) 168 7410) spun up the decks and judged the vibe just right, supported by the all-important disco and room lighting supplied and setup by Paul from Galway DJs (+353 (87) 299 2368). Overall, as I’m sure you’ve gathered from reading this far down this review, we had a fantastic couple of days in the castle which have left us with very fond memories and a lifetime of photos (expertly captured by Joe Crean Photography). We simply couldn’t recommend Cloughan Castle and their suppliers highly enough for a truly magical wedding - thank you!"


 

Elise & Jon

October 2021

"Our wedding took place in October, and was a destination wedding (we’re from the United States). Having not seen the venue in person until the week of our wedding, we were absolutely blown away with how wonderful it was. It has all the charm and feel of a 12th century castle, with the modern amenities of today. Kim was a pleasure to work with, and recommended a wonderful crew for the day. We couldn’t have been happier or in better hands! A few highlights of the place:

  • The long driveway adorned with trees on either side is gorgeous for photos in the fall - it also makes for such a grand entrance for the guests!
  • The top tower gives off a wonderful view of the surrounding area, which is rather remote; it certainly adds to the feeling you are staying in a place from another time (though you’re not too far from Gort, which is a very charming town).
  • The rooms are all so unique and incredibly comfortable! We were able to offer up rooms to our wedding party, which made for a special moment after all the guests left to have one last drink with our closest friends and family.
  • We had a wedding of 40 people, which was perfect for the space - you could certainly have more, but if you have a more intimate wedding planned, this was a great amount to feel like you had a full house.
  • The drawing room upstairs also makes for a perfect cocktail hour!

We could go on and on, but the long and short of it is, we were blown away by the value of this place, and all the people attached with it. We worked with Justin (Maggie May’s) for catering (fantastic salmon) Maurice for bar keeping (best whiskey sours I’ve ever had. We couldn’t be more thrilled with how it all turned out. If you are considering a destination wedding in Ireland, put this at the top of your list! All of our guests kept saying how they have never been to a wedding anything like it, and how incredible of an experience it was. You’ll make memories to last a lifetime!"


 

Aisling and Ciaran

18th January 2020

"Had our wedding at Cloughan Castle in January, the place is Amazing! Would highly recommend to anybody considering this place!! Honestly felt like a princess on my wedding day- a real dream come true. Kim and crew thank you so much, the entire process was so easy with your help. Although planning your own catering etc sounds stressful it honestly couldn't be easier. Kim's recommendations were fantastic. Kim made the whole experience stress free, bringing great knowledge and experience to the table. It literally took 3 phonecalls!
The grounds around the castle are great for photography! As for the castle itself, fantastic! Honestly the place needs no decorations, it's got character in every room. The rooms are so individual and beautifully decorated, every guest was honestly astounded with the venue!!!
The view from the top of the castle at night is a must see, stunning views all around.
We had a small wedding of 26, spent the night in the homely drawing room. We felt so relaxed all weekend having the place to ourselves.
Cannot say enough about the place, every detail well planned and the whole venue was picture perfect. Couldn't ask for more!! Thanks again guys."


 

Eve Greene 

24th February 2020

"We stayed in Cloughan Castle at the weekend, I won a nights stay in it in a competition. It was absolutly amazing, it was so much more than what I expected. The grounds around it were stunning. Every room in the castle was done to the highest standard. Kim the manager was a pleasure to talk to and was so helpful, Enda the caretaker met us with the keys when we arrived and showed us around. Everyone had such a fantastic time there. I would highly recommend Cloghan Castle. "


 

Christina and David

31st October 2019

"Cloughan Castle is a fantastic venue!
When we started planning our wedding we decided we wanted a venue with character, Cloghan Castle has this in spades! The castle itself is beautifully restored, and the grounds are stunning.
Initially, we thought a self catering venue might be a lot of work, with having to book caterers and bar separately but Kim, the general manager, made the planning process so easy and her advice was invaluable. The food and service was amazing thanks to Justin (Maggie May's, loughrae).
We cant reccomend the castle enough, it is such a unique place!"


 

Marie and Roger

21st October 2019

"We celebrated our wedding day on Fri October 18th 2019 and what an amazing experience we had. From the minute we found and booked venue, it has been so easy to organise. Kim was so helpful, as was Lourda who let us in the day before. Justin Comber from Maggie Mays did all our catering. The food was amazing, so much wonderful food. Everyone is still talking about the beef. The food was hot and served quickly to all tables.
Maurice was fantastic and ran the bar and drinks reception so smoothly. He also made sure that the bathrooms were looked after throughout the day.He gave us great recommendations and little tips to help the day run smoothly.
Denise from Hitched Events was amazing. She decorated the reception room and castle exactly the way we wanted, really listened to us. Couldn't recommend her enough. We had some dinner entertainment and this brought the celebrations to another level. Thank you to Marco from Singers for hire wedding and corporate entertainment.
Our wedding band were The Weightless Astronauts and wow, what a band!!!! The floor was full the whole night, my feet are still sore after all the dancing. It was wonderful to be able to relax the following day and not have to check out until the Sunday.
We organised for Justin to cater food for the Saturday evening for 20 family members who were staying in the castle and nearby. It was lovely to just chill out in the Drawing Room after the dinner. If anyone wants an intimate, unique and stunningly amazing venue, then this is the place for you. I couldn't recommend Cloughan Castle enough.It will always hold a very special place in our hearts. Thank you to everyone there. You're all amazing."


 

Pauline and Bart

22nd September 2019

"Cloughan Castle has an amazing team working behind the scenes, a special mention has to go to Kim who provided great help/support and recommended excellent suppliers to us, whom, I mention below, that insured the reception, dinner, and bar were run efficiently and professionally and we didn’t need to think about the food & drink all day, as we knew it was being looked after and all was in hand. The location and venue Cloughan Castle was just stunning, from the manicured lawns, luxurious bedrooms and beautifully restored original features, no expense has been spared in undergoing the restorations and it has been so thoughtfully laid out and the comfort as well as style of all the interiors and unique rooms were fantastic. The castle has the perfect balance of the stunning location while retaining a certain warmth and class. We took over the castle for the weekend moving in on Friday through to Sunday afternoon, so it was “ours” for the weekend. The beauty and presentation of the venue was matched by the efficiency of service and quality of the food prepared by Justin (Maggie Mays Restaurant, Loughrea) and Maurice (a local bar owner, Loughrea) who was so professional and efficient ensuring all our guests were seen to at all times, this was a well organised team who ensured we had a fabulous setting and atmosphere. Food choice, drinks, service and quality were second to none. Since our big day we have had endless compliments regarding the venue, all of our guests just thoroughly enjoyed themselves from start to finish and are still talking about their experience in Cloughan Castle. We couldn't have had a more incredible weekend if we tried. Cloughan Castle provided us with a fairytale and magical wedding day. We can't begin to describe the absolute joy we had over the weekend with our families and friends, we are so grateful to everyone who worked so hard to make it such a success and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cloughan Castle for your wedding venue."


 

Susan and Sean

19th August 2019

"We got married in Cloughan Castle in June and it was everything we wished for. We fell in love with it the very first time we visited it. The setting and decor is amazing. What we loved was the fact that we would be able to add our own personal touches and that the venue would be just ours for the whole weekend! Our guests commented on how intimate and relaxed the day was and how it was 'something a bit different' which is just what we wanted. The staff (Kim, Kevin and Shirley) were always there to clear up any queries we had, big or small, and nothing was ever too much hassle. They were so so helpful with all the planning in the final lead up and so much fun to deal with. We couldn't possibly class Maurice as being just a great barman because he did so much more for us on the day. He was so attentive to every guest's needs and just knows what works best in the castle. Things definitely ran smoothly because of his input and we'll be forever grateful for that. If you are considering Cloughan Castle for your wedding day we really cant recommend it enough. Its a magical spot that we will hold dear forever. Susan & Sean xx"


 

Andrea and James

8th August 2019

"I stayed and married in the castle in early August of 2019, and it far exceeded everyone’s expectations. The castle itself is magical, beautiful and fun. Kevin, the groundskeeper, is very entertaining; Kim is absolutely delightful and both are very helpful. To my surprise, the water pressure was awesome, and the heating / ventilation / air conditioning was spot on. The beds were comfortable, and the place was well maintained and clean. I give this place countless stars!


 

Rebecca and Gavin

3rd August 2019

"From the moment we drove through the gates of Cloughan Castle we knew this place was special.
What first attracted us to Cloughan was the exclusivity of the venue. The idea that we would have the keys to the castle for an entire weekend really appealed to us and was a USP versus all of the other venues that we had looked at. Also, the option to choose our own caterer was a huge plus for us. That coupled with the fact that the castle works with a number of preferred suppliers made the selection process so much easier than it could have been.
We had a Humanist Ceremony onsite in the castle ballroom, so our entire day was conveniently held in the one venue. There was no awkward travelling / rushing around between the ceremony and the reception which was fantastic for our guests, most of whom had already travelled a significant distance to attend our wedding.
We also used the castle as the site for our wedding photos. Our photographer was familiar with the venue and so knew all the best locations to get us the most stunning and unique photographs that we will cherish for years to come!
Our caterer was one of the “preferred Suppliers” that the castle have listed in their brochure. We had the opportunity to meet him directly at the castle open day. This meant that we were able to sample the food and know what we could look forward to for our big day!!
‚ÄčLeading up to the day, Kim was available for any and all questions that popped up. She even had some very useful suggestions for us that really made a difference to our special day! We booked the castle for 2 nights and it was honestly like living in a fairytale. From the moment we got the keys on the Friday, the catering and bar staff worked fantastically well behind the scenes ensuring that the day went by as smoothly as possible. All of the staff and suppliers went out of their way to make us feel so very welcome. We didn’t have to worry about a thing!
We cannot recommend Cloughan castle strongly enough for any potential couples who want a break from the “traditional” church/hotel wedding venue. Our guests felt like royalty from the moment they walked through the door. It was indeed the best weekend of our lives!! Rebecca & Gavin"


 

Moira Meier

10th July 2019

"We cannot recommend Cloughan Castle enough. From the minute we picked it as our venue, Cloughan Castle was brilliant to work with. Kim was like a personal wedding planner who had great advice, lots of ideas and replied so quickly everytime. We planned the whole wedding from Switzerland and thanks to Kim it was so easy and carefree. Thank you so much for everything. The castle as a wedding venue is absolutely amazing. For us it was perfect in every aspect. We had our ceremony in the banquet hall but the gardens or battlements are also gorgeous places for the ceremony. We had our drinks recepetion in the drawing room followed by the meal in the banquet hall. From start to finish the day was amazing. We rented the castle for a week so we really got to make the most of it. If you are looking for a castle venue, look no further than cloghan castle. For anyone who has questions or would like more information on the suppliers we used, feel free to get in touch."


 

Aoife and Graham

13th June 2019

"Now that the dust has settled I just wanted to thank you for all your help. We had an unbelievable weekend in Cloughan Castle. It was everything we dreamed and planned for- it really was perfect.
Kevin & Shirley and yourself were a great help to us and always on hand. You make a great team. Kevin is a legend and worth his weight in gold! Obviously we've been dealing with him too from the start and he has a lovely way about him that put us at ease everytime we spoke to him.
Justin Comer; I would recommend every day of the week. The food and service was better than 5* Hotel. His staff are fantastic especially Siobhan- she's a wee star and done a fantastic job on set up etc. Maurice was unbelievable. Everything ran so smoothly and he done it all with a smile!! Our guests are still complimenting Maurice and his staff to us. He does a lot more than pull pints and serve prosecco and he massively downplays the role he plays in making our weekend run so smoothly! He really is the consummate professional!
Michael at Caterent was also very easy to deal with and very very good value. He should be top of the list for anyone needing equipment or furniture!
I really can't tell you how fantastic a venue Cluoghan is. If you ever have a bride or groom wavering - please feel free to put them in contact with us and we will do our best to assure them- it works out and they will never regret it. We're still on such a high and we're so glad we went with Cloughan- as I told you, we'd viewed around 10 venues and Cloughan was head and shoulders above the rest in every respect. Thanks again for everything!"


 

Laura and Nick

7th June 2019

"We can’t recommend cloughan castle enough. After deciding to marry in Ireland last June we had our venue narrowed down to a few, and we decided we wanted an authentic castle.. not something that was castle on the outside but hotel on the inside. Cloughan castle was exactly what we were looking for.. the castle grounds are absolutely stunning and the castle itself was more then I could ever imagine. It is clean, big and warm and most of all authentic - cloughan castle acts as an Airbnb and it was so nice to have the whole place to ourselves- we partied until the early hours of morning and had music on blast and didn’t have to worry about a thing. The cloughan castle team are simply amazing though - Kim Monaghan has been emailing since I decided on the venue and was such a huge help, she answered my hundreds of questions and gave me recommendations for everything that needed to be booked for a wedding. Shirley was the one who met us the day we arrived to get us settled in and helped us with everything we needed over the next couple of days and was so sweet. Pictures and the internet really don’t do justice of our stay here- it really was an absolute dream come true and the perfect fairytale. I’m already planning my 10 year vow renewal haha
If your thinking of getting married here you will not be disappointed and feel free to ask me any questions you may have."


 

Ciara Boyle

17th October 2018

"We are still on cloud nine after our fairytale weekend in Cloughan Castle. It was definitely how we imagined and way more! Kim and Lourda were so helpful from day one. All of their recommendations and advice really helped to shape our day. Úna ó malley (one beautiful ceremony) gave us a beautiful ceremony, along with pianist Sean Rowland. Nothing was too much to ask for from Maurice the barman, he is an absolute gent, and such lovely friendly staff he has, as had our caterer, Justin. We couldn't fault Justin's food, beautifully cooked, big portions, and plenty of seconds to go around. 

The castle blew everyone away. The place was spotless when we arrived on the Friday. We were handed the keys and it instantly felt like home. We were left to enjoy the castle to ourselves, and although Cloughan Castle staff were only a phonecall/text away, our closest family who stayed with us throughout the weekend made it their home too. My sister is planning to book her wedding here (she is currently single but we will be back haha). Our wedding guests loved how they could explore the bedrooms, tower, battlements and gardens. We went for a fairytale theme and truly felt like King and Queen, our little Robyn was a real life Princess as she kept saying! Thanks so much from Barry, myself and Robyn. We truly had the most magical weekend of our lives. Such a special place ‚̧"


 

Lauren Mc Guinness

22nd August 2018

"When we decided to get married, we wanted a castle, we also wanted accommodation and the option to have a few days to spend with our guests. That plus our budget meant that Cloughan Castle was just perfect. We got the keys on Friday morning and handed them back on Monday afternoon so we were literally the king and queen of our very own castle for a weekend! Living in Melbourne meant we did a lot of organising from Australia which was challenging but Kim, the General Manager was so helpful with sending information and recommendations. We used all the recommended castle vendors which I would highly encourage others to do, they were fantastic! If you are looking for a breathtaking venue and a unique wedding experience for you and your guests I can’t recommend Cloughan Castle enough. It was stunning!"


 

Kolio Tsanov

12th July 2018

"Our wedding at the Cloughan Castle three weeks ago was simply magical! The authenticity of the Castle and the warmth of the team, it all felt like as if we were absorbed in a fairy tail! Which nobody wished to end...! Everything went very smooth. Kim was of great help and recommended us brilliant staff who insured the reception, dinner, and bar were run perfectly well. Kevin welcomed us warmly and was around to make sure all goes fine. The beauty of this well maintained Castle and the warmth and professionalism of the staff made our special day unforgettable!"


 

Michelle Henry

11th July 2018

"Words cannot describe how grateful we are for the amazing team at Cloughan Castle. Kim and Kevin went above and beyond to make sure our Wedding in May was perfect. Living in Australia, we did not set foot on the property until the day before our wedding, and the venue was truly above our expectations!! Not in our wildest dreams did we think this castle would be so beautiful and authentic, the atmosphere at the wedding was all thanks to the picturesque surroundings. During the lead up and planning, Kim took care of everything for us, we had the whole wedding planned with a few emails and phone calls, completely stress free. Once we arrived at the Castle, Kevin was there to greet us and take care of everything we needed. He quickly became like part of the family with his warm and friendly personality, nothing we asked him was an issue. I can not recommend this venue highly enough, our guests are still talking about how homely and relaxed the castle was. The perfect venue for all occasions!"


 

Sinead Byrne

23rd April 2018

"Thank you so much for providing such a stunning place for our family Easter holidays , your team are so helpful and we had a magical time there."


 

Nicola Fahy

11th February 2018

"Got to spend a night in the castle for our dad’s birthday. The whole place is fabulous and finished to such a high standard. A special night in a spectacular venue, would highly recommend!"


 

Emma Herren

26th November 2017

"We had a fantastic wedding day at Cloughan Castle.I cannot recommend enough for a special,unique wedding venue. Lots of happy memories made there."


 

Catherine Edhardt

19th July 2017

"We can't say enough about Cloughan Castle! We had our wedding here on 11 July and it was absolutely wonderful! The castle is beautiful and being able to fully use the whole place and do everything how we wanted it was perfect. I would recommend Cloughan to anyone wanting a fairytale wedding venue. I can't imagine having our wedding anywhere else. It is the perfect wedding spot!"


 

Elaine Keating

13th July 2017

"We had our wedding in Cloughan over the May bank holiday this year (2017) and had the most magical wedding day and weekend ever. Kim couldn't have done more to help with our preparations and the venue was just fabulous."